The second movement is a Largo in the key of E flat major. The major mode helps to describe the text of the sonnet associated with this movement:

Before the fire to pass peaceful,
Contented days while the rain outside pours down.

The movement is composed of an 8-bar melody that ends modulating to the dominant, B-flat major. The melody is repeated with variations in B-flat major and ends in E-flat major.

Here is the complete movement:


John Harrison, violín, Robert Turizziani, director. Wichita State University Chamber Players.
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. José Rodríguez Alvira.
Published by

Search   •    Write to us