The first movement, an Allegro, uses the ritornello form. In this form the main musical idea - the ritornello - is presented with variations by the full orchestra (tutti or ripieno), alternating with soloists sections (concertino).

Follows the structure of this movement (click on the sections to examine them):

1 - 12
F minor, C minor
To tremble from cold in the icy snow,

12 - 18
C minor, F minor
In the harsh breath of a horrid wind;

18 - 26
F minor
To run, stamping one's feet every moment,

26 - 38
F minor, Eb major

38 - 44
Eb major

44 - 56
Eb major, Ab major, C minor and F minor
Our teeth chattering in the extreme cold

56 - 63
F minor

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. José Rodríguez Alvira.
Published by

Search   •    Write to us