Between 1718 and 1720, Antonio Vivaldi wrote four violin concertos named after the seasons: spring, summer, autumn and winter. They were published in 1725 in the book Il cimento dell'armonia e dell'inventione.

These three-movement concertos use the structure of the baroque concerto grosso (grand concerto) where a group of soloists (concertino) alternates with the full orchestra (ripieno or tutti) over a basso continuo.

Each concerto is associated with a sonnet that Vivaldi illustrates with his music.


The following ressources were used to create these pages:

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. José Rodríguez Alvira.
Published by

Search   •    Write to us