The diminished scale has eight notes. There are two types of diminished scales: the whole-step/half-step (or auxiliary diminished) and the half-step/whole-step (or auxiliary diminished dominant). The term diminished comes from the fact that degrees I, III, V, and VII form a diminished seventh chord.

disminuida tono semitono

disminuida semitono-tono

See S > Scales for related entries

Search   •    Write to us

Creative Commons License
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
José Rodríguez Alvira.