These images show the structure of both fugues. Red sections indicate a subject or answer and blue sections episodes. Triangles show ascending or descending versions of the subjects:

This table summarizes the structure:

1-13 13-19 20-24 24-28 29-41 41-47 47-52 52-61 62-71
Exposition First episode Subject in D minor Second episode Second exposition in the submediant (rectus) and mediant (inversus) keys Third episode Subject in D minor Fourth episode Final presentation


Summary of all subjects and answers:

Fugue Exposition Second exposition Final presentation (measure 62)  
Rectus A - B - S B - S - A B - S
Inversus S - A - B A - B - S A - B

©2017 José Rodríguez Alvira. Published by

Search   •    Write to us