The second movement, in C# minor, is a Largo based on the following text:

On the flower-strewn meadow, with leafy branches
rustling overhead, the goat-herd sleeps,
his faithful dog beside him.

Musically we have three ideas present through movement:

  1. A melody (solo violin) represents the sleeping shepherd..
  2. An ostinato using sixteenth and 32nd notes describes the leafy branches rustling overhead.
  3. The bass (viola), using eighths and quarter notes, sempre forte represent the dog barking.

Here are the first bars where we can see these three elements:

Formally it consists of 4 phrases and a short coda:

First phrase. Measures 85 - 90:

The second phrase is harmonized with a cycle of fifths and ends on the minor dominant. Measures 91 - 101:

TThe third phrase is a variation of the first one. Measures 103 - 106:

The fourth phrase is harmonized with an ascending progression of fourths and thirds. Measures 107 - 116:

The melody ends with the last bars of the previous phrase. Measures 117 - 120:

Complete movement:


John Harrison, violín, Robert Turizziani, director. Wichita State University Chamber Players.
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. José Rodríguez Alvira.
Published by

Search   •    Write to us