The Art of the Fugue (Die Kunst der Fuge BWV 1080) is one of the great monothematic works of Bach. It is based on this theme:

With this theme Bach writes 14 fugues (one was unfinished) and 4 canons:

3 stretto fugues with inverted answers (Contrapunctus V to VII)
Contrapunctus V Contrapunctus VI Contrapunctus VII
4 double / triples fugues (Contrapunctus VIII to XI)
Contrapunctus VIII Contrapunctus IX Contrapunctus X Contrapunctus XI
2 mirror fugues (Contrapunctus XII to XIII)
Contrapunctus XII

Contrapunctus XIII

Unfinished fugue

Contrapunctus XIV



© 2008-2012 José Rodríguez Alvira. Published by

    Google Communities

Search   •    Write to us